Godslave - Slaves To The Old
4/8/2011 11:43:32 AM by Eric

With the big three of Sodom, Kreator and Destruction the German heavy metal scene of the 80s was as rampant as San Fran's Bay Area. The scene was dominant through the 80s and early 90s and eventually catching fire again in the '00s with newer bands breaking out the retro old school nod. One of these new groups is newcomer Godslave.

The German band started in 2008 and have released their second full length album via the label SAOL. "Into The Black" is a raging vintage affair that fully embraces Sodom's drunken delivery with a sense of Tankard and Assassin. After almost thirty years of thrash riffs how does a new band produce something valid and refreshing? Bernie told Maximum Metal: "It's not very hard because we don't care about what others think. We're just letting out what is already in ourselves. So we're not setting ourselves any boundaries and we just want to give our best. That's all you can do anyway. We don't want to create something new in particular, we just want to create something that we love and we can be proud of and we achieved this with the new record. We are damn proud of it and when people like it too and appreciate our work that is awesome and that makes us even more proud".

The band recruit some thrash assistance for the new album. Mike Sifringer of Destruction and Benedikt Zimniak of Mekong Delta both guest with some solo work and Gerrit P. Mutz of Sacred Steel provides his signature vocals on the title track.

The band will play the upcoming fests Feuerfanger and the Metallergrillen as well as working on tour for the Fall. Booking inquiries can be sent to ronny@cmm-marketing.com.


<< back >>

Slipknot Children Of Bodom
BloodDuster Twelfth Gate
Cradle of Filth Norma Jean
Commit Suicide Advent
Mortician Liege Lord
Dark Moor Valley's Eve
The Chainsaw Circle of Nero
Goat Horn Evolution
Iced Earth Dragonforce
Morbid Angel Runemagick
Steel Preacher Thunderstone
Attacker Hypocrisy
Lacuna Coil Dreamaker
Black Stone Cherry Celesty
Jaw Babylon Mystery Orchestra
W.A.S.P. Kingcrow
Donnerkopf Highlord
U.D.O. Judas Priest
Feinstein Krokus
Lilitu After Forever
Psychotron Dio
Wintersun Division
Megadeth I.C.E.
Chris Caffery Marshall Law
Internal Bleeding Slowlife
House of Shakira GWAR
Blind Guardian Mirror of Deception
Karmakanic Avenue F
Tristania Creed
Legion Bloody Sign
The New Breed Audiovision
Rottweiller Kings X
Requiem Aeternam Impaled
Quiet Riot Astral Doors
Yyrkoon Strikelight
Nevermore Mystic Prophecy
Darkthrone Diecast
Alex Skolnick Trio Meshuggah
Magica Soul SirkUS
Kryoburn System Of A Down
Ramesses Def Leppard
Ivory Knight Groundcrew
Defleshed Blind Stare
Sentenced Voyager
Nuse Slik Helvetika
Widow Blitzkrieg
Scar Symmetry A Lower Deep
Mercyful Fate Lake Of Tears
Eternal Reign Penetrator
Casus Belli Third Degree
Ewigkeit Gojira
Asrai God Forbid
Decapitated Grimfist
Across Tundras Tandjent
Poison Nightmare
Tris Katone Event Horizon
The Smashup Dreams of Damnation
Stormcrow Apiary
Michael Orlando Fragments of Unbecoming
Suzukiton Swashbuckle
Fleshgore Woodtemple
Death Breath Abominant
The Finals Myon
Isis Eighteen Visions
Biolich Lupara
Panzerchrist Skullflower
In This Moment Zyklon
Almah White Wizzard
Satariel Spit Like This
Pentacle Manes
Tears Denial Fiend
Wuthering Heights David Galas
Hearse Temple Of Blood
Destynation I Shalt Become
Witchfinder General Blood Haven
Burzum Equilibrium