New MM Feature: Made in England--Aragorn "Black Ice"
7/31/2012 2:01:26 PM by Josh

The next time someone mentions bands like Venom and Motorhead leading the charge during the NWOBHM movement in regards to speed, heaviness, grime and grit, etc...make sure they've heard Aragorn (a not so surprising Tolkein reference). While not having an accomplished career, like most bands that went sooner than they came during those years, Aragorn carried all those characteristics and waved the flag high with the "Black Ice" (1981) single released by none other than Neat Records and were in fact one of the labels earliest signed bands, predating releases by influential guitar-tone heavy bands like Hellhammer. Struck by possible bad luck/timing, such is seemingly the fate of most in the movement, Aragorn didn't survive much further than this single and the later material didn't capture the bulldozer drive and tempo that this early single did. The B Side, "Noonday" is also another heavy hitter.

<< back >>

Hate Eternal The Kovenant
Opeth Slipknot
Karaboudjan Poisonblack
Neck Anthrax
Impellitteri Goatwhore
Twisted Tower Dire Symphorce
Kalibas Gun Barrel
Celestial Ode Overkill
Ring of Fire Firewind
Wizard October 31
Pyn Siren Evolution
Catch 22 Paragon
Dragonforce Thunderbolt
King Diamond Crystal Eyes
Savatage Wicked Sensation
Lacuna Coil Out of the Lair
Secret Sphere Soul Reaper
Hard Echo Drowning Pool
Cryonic Temple Exodus
Bang The Union downBleed
Deep Purple W.A.S.P.
Disarmonia Mundi Highlord
U.D.O. Zaius
Feinstein Joe Lynn Turner
Goatsnake Meliah Rage
Saxon Rhapsody of Fire
Final Dawn Shadows Fall
Dio Wintersun
Potential Threat SF Aina
Eternal Flight Polterchrist
Neurosis The Last Act
Acheron Hanzel Und Gretyl
Karmakanic Avenue F
Cryme Tristania
Sonata Arctica Kinetic
Scenteria Motley Crue
Ligeia Kings X
Loudblast Yyrkoon
Apocalyptica Mystic Prophecy
Holy Moses Kryoburn
Callenish Circle Slumber
Nightrage Naglfar
Vicious Art Brand New Sin
Voyager Secrets She Kept
Prowler Inc. Fates Warning
Resurrecturis Holy Blood
Edenbridge Future is Tomorrow
Violent Storm Dirty Americans
Savage Circus Phantom X
Mistress Spellbound
Infliction Wolfmother
Chain Collector Midnight Idols
Dogs Of Winter Khold
Vanquished Decapitated
Early Man Naked Beggars
Cardinale Beyond Fear
Fields Of The Nephilim Daylight Dies
Event Horizon Valhalla
Silver Dirt Athanator
The Sword Before Silence
Fragments of Unbecoming Space Odyssey
Nachtmystium Psycroptic
From the Grave The Ruins of Beverast
The Finals Wastefall
Thy Majestie Obtest
Lordi Kotipelto
Urkraft Skullflower
Warmachine Stonegard
Hardcore Superstar Southern Gentleman
Threat Signal Static-X
Madking Ludwig Incrave
Marc Sasso White Willow
Gotthard Denial Fiend
Warner Drive Transmission 0
Wuthering Heights Spheric Universe Experience
Night Ranger Pathology
Ride The Sky Mortiis
Father Befouled Demonic Symphony
Aetherius Obscuritas Blood Haven
SOS Kreator
Embalming Theatre Souls Of We
Son of Eric Something Beautiful
Battleroar Sotajumala
Uli Jon Roth